Effective February 15, 2022, applications for all CHLs will be submitted through a secure third party software called Permit Direct by Permitium.
This means that you can fill out the application from your computer or smartphone 24 hours a day.
Read the Important Notices and General Information. You can also scroll to the bottom of the page to the Concealed Handgun License section, which lists the documents you'll need to upload to the application.
User Tip: Gather all your documentation before moving forward. This will help make sure that you are submitting a complete application, which helps speed up the processing time. Don't forget to have your credit card handy.
NOTE: If you apply for your CHL renewal more than 45 days prior to your expiration, you will likely lose time on your current permit.
If you do not wish to lose time, please apply 45 days or less before your current expiration date.
Visit our Concealed Handgun License online application website at Permitium
Columbia County Sheriff's Office - Concealed Handgun License Information
Under Oregon Law (ORS 166), if you wish to carry a handgun concealed upon your person, or concealed and readily accessible within a vehicle, you must have a concealed handgun license (CHL)
CHLs are issued by County (under the authority of the Sheriff) and are good throughout the state of Oregon. Oregon does NOT recognize any other state's concealed handgun license/permit at this time.
Oregon CHLs are valid for 4 years from date of issuance, unless otherwise revoked or denied.
*Before you may apply for a Concealed Handgun License in Oregon, you must first take and pass an approved handgun course. There are a number of courses that are out there which are provided by private individuals that might quality depending on content and instruction approval by the National Rifle Association. We recognize the Oregon State Sheriff's Association online course as an approved course which can be found here: https://oregonchl.org/