The law to license dogs is mandated by the State of Oregon and is part of a rabies enforcement program designed to help ensure that dogs are properly vaccinated. In addition, dog licensing helps reunite owners with lost dogs.
Fees collected by Columbia County for dog licensing are used to provide the county with a shelter for lost, stray and neglected dogs. The fees also help fund the Animal Control Officer, providing a position to respond to the numerous animal related complaints received each year.
Spayed or Neutered Dog
Senior Owner(65) Fixed Dog
Senior Owner(65) Unfixed Dog
Late Fee $25.00 per household
Kennel Permit (10 dogs or MORE) $250.00
Groomer Permit Only $100.00
Late Fee for Kennel or Groomer Permit $100.00
License applications can be completed online, downloaded (Dog License Application.pdf ) and mailed to the Sheriffs Office along with proof of rabies vaccinations and a check written to CCSO, or picked up in person from the Sheriff's Office.
Once you purchase or renew your dog license using our online licensing program, please email your rabies certificates to firstname.lastname@example.org or mail to Attention: Animal Control, 901 Port Avenue, St. Helens, Oregon 97051
***** Dog licenses issued must run concurrent with the rabies vaccination period*****
The Sheriff's Office oversees the licensing of all dogs in Columbia County and manages dog control.
Questions? Call (503) 366-4606 during Business Hours