Concealed Handgun Licensing

DUE TO COVID 19, THE COLUMBIA COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE IS NOW RENEWING CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSES BY MAIL.

THIS OPTION IS ONLY AVAILABLE IF YOUR COLUMBIA COUNTY CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE HAS NOT BEEN EXPIRED FOR OVER ONE YEAR.

To renew by mail, please mail in the following items:

  • Completed application, Application must be signed and dated and the second to last paragraph on page 2 MUST be initialed.
  • A copy of your expired or expiring CHL
  • A copy of your valid driver's license
  • If a Washington resident, a copy of your current Washington CWP
  • Send in a photo of yourself: either mail a passport photo or take a photo of yourself from the chest up against a light, solid colored background and email it to CCSO.CHL@columbiacountyor.gov 
  • Photo should be a JPEG file type. Include in your email your full name, current Oregon Columbia County CHL number and the date of mailing of your application.
  • Payment in the form of a money order or cashier's check made payable to CCSO

Please note the expiration date on the front of your concealed handgun license and apply for your renewal no more than 45 days prior to the expiration.


 Information to all Concealed Handgun Applicants


  • At the time of application to the Sheriff’s Office for processing you will be photographed and fingerprinted, all applicable fees will be collected, and you will be required to present TWO pieces of identification. One piece of identification must be a valid and current picture-identification.
  • Active military personnel are exempt from personally appearing to process their applications. A copy of your current Oregon Driver License with a Columbia County address, the renewal fee, and a current completed application can be mailed to the Sheriff's Office for processing.
  • Washington residents may also qualify for CHL through Columbia County if they regularly travel to or through our county.  See special instructions below.
  • Fees are non-refundable and cover the cost of background investigation and processing required by law.
     

To be eligible for a Concealed Handgun License in Oregon, you must meet the following minimum qualifications:

  • Applicants must be citizens of the United States or a legal resident alien that can prove his/her intent to apply for citizenship;
  • Applicants must be 21 years of age or older
  • Applicants' principal place of residence must be in Columbia County (Exceptions to this can include those leasing or renting property in Columbia County and Washington Residents who come to or through Columbia County on a regular basis)
  • Applicants must not have any outstanding warrants
  • Applicants must be free of any felony convictions
  • Applicants must have no misdemeanor convictions or diversion within the last 4 years
  • Applicants must not be on any form of pre-trial release
  • Applicants must not be prohibited to possess a firearm under any other state or federal law.

Washington Residents must meet these additional qualifications.

  • You must have a current Washington State Concealed Handgun License to qualify for your Oregon permit.  This permit can be used as one piece of identification when applying for your Oregon CHL.
  • You must write a letter to the sheriff stating why you want an Oregon Concealed Handgun License.  Your reasons must be compelling in nature.
  • There will be a $10.00 administrative fee.  The fee is applied to the cost of regular monitoring of criminal histories of Washington residents holding any type of Columbia County licenses or permits through the Sheriff's Office.

Concealed Handgun Applicant Documentation Requirements

Oregon Applicants

  • Application
  • Proof of a Concealed Handgun Safety Class
  • 2 Forms of identification(Oregon Driver’s License and something else with your name on such as an insurance card, Costco Card, etc)

Washington Applicants

  • Application
  • Letter to Sheriff why you want an Oregon Concealed Handgun License
  • Proof of a Concealed Handgun Safety Class
  • 2 Forms of identification (Valid Washington Driver’s License and Washington Concealed Handgun License)

Concealed Handgun Renewal Documentation Requirements

Oregon Renewal

  • Application
  • 2 Forms of identification
  • Renewal Process must be completed within a year of the expiration of your CHL or you will have to complete the entire CHL Process.

Washington Renewal

  • Application
  • 2 Forms of identification
  • Renewal Process must be completed within a year of the expiration of your CHL or you will have to complete the entire CHL Process

Transfers, Change of Address, Request for Replacement Card and Request for Name Change

Transfers

  • The concealed handgun license is an Oregon permit, but it is administered in the County you reside in.
  • When you change your DMV license you need to change your CHL so that both addresses are the same.
  • This is a Transfer or a Transfer/Renewal if your permit is about to expire. 
  • To transfer your CHL, you must schedule an appointment so the CHL staff can obtain new fingerprints and a photograph. 
  • You will need to bring your completed application, concealed license from the other county and your driver's license when you come in for your appointment, as well as the required fee.

Change of Address

  • If you moved within Columbia County or Washington State, you must first change our address with the DMW. 
  • Once this is done, complete the printable Change of Address form and submit payment by mailing to the Columbia Sheriff's Office , 901 Port Avenue., St. Helens, OR 97051.
  • Please include a copy of your current Columbia County CHL.

Request for Replacement Card

  • If you have changed your name (i.e. have gotten married/divorced or have legally change your name), please complete the Change of Address form and check the box requesting a name change.
  • Please include a copy of your current Columbia County CHL, as well as documentation of the name change (i.e. marriage certificate, court documents, etc.)

A Change of Address, Replacement Card or Name Change require payment of $15.00 for a replacement card.


Forms, Fees and Links

*Before you may apply for a Concealed Handgun License in Oregon, you must take and pass an approved concealed handgun course.  There are a number of courses that are out there and provided by private individuals that might qualify.  We recognize the Oregon State Sheriff's Association online course as one of those courses.  The cost of the course and certificate of completion is $55. Other courses may also qualify, depending on content and approval by the National Rifle Association.
 

CCSO Concealed Handgun Licensing Dates

  • WE CURRENTLY DO NOT HAVE ANY CHL EVENTS SCHEDULED FOR 2021. ONCE WE RESUME THESE CHL EVENTS, WE WILL POST THE DATES ON THIS WEB PAGE.

CLATSKANIE POLICE SUB-STATION - 195 SE 2ND ST., CLATSKANIE

COLUMBIA COUNTY SHERIFFS OFFICE - 901 PORT AVENUE, ST HELENS

General Information
Phone Numbers
503.366.4611
Emergencies: Dial 911
Location
901 Port Avenue
Saint Helens,
OR
97051